Talk to an Advisor

Your Advisor

Health professions advising is available to all Duke undergraduates throughout your four years at Duke and after.

Advising for first-year students and sophomores focuses on preparation, requirements, making plans, and exploring opportunities. Advising for juniors, seniors, and alumni focuses on final coursework, timing of the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) or other exam, the application process, choice of schools, letters of recommendation and gap year opportunities.

To learn more about your advisor—including contact information—refer to the sections below.

Advisors for First-Year Students and Sophomores

Your Health Professions Advisor is based on the dorm in which you live in (or were assigned) as you enter Duke. You keep this advisor through your sophomore year.

If your advisor makes appointments by email, it would be helpful if you could attach a screen shot of your schedule or indicate the days and times of the week that are most open for you.

Alspaugh:  Dean Donna Kostyu

Office: 110 Academic Advising Center
Contact Info:  919-684-6217, ddkk@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment:  call 919-684-6217

Bassett:  Dr. Molly Goldwasser

Office: Trent Hall Office 009
Contact Info: 919-684-0731, molly.goldwasser@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email molly.goldwasser@duke.edu

Bell Tower:  Dean Alyssa Perz

Office: 110 Academic Advising Center
Contact Info: 919-684-6217, akperz@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-6217

Brown:  Dean Karen Murphy

Office: 011H Allen Building
Contact Info:  919-684-2130, karen.murphy@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-2130

Blackwell:  Dr. George Dubay  

Office: 2325 French Family Science Center
Contact Info:  919-660-1532, george.dubay@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment:  email george.dubay@duke.edu

East:  Dean David Rabiner

Office: 110 Academic Advising Center
Contact Info: 919-684-6217, david.rabiner@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-6217

Epworth:  Dean Karen Murphy

Office: 011H Allen Building
Contact Info:  919-684-2130, karen.murphy@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-2130

Gilbert-Addoms:  Dr. Bernie Fischer

Office: 139 MSRB I
Contact Info: 919-660-0258, bernie.fischer@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email bernie.fischer@duke.edu

Giles:  Ms. Megan Tisdale

Office: Duke Law School, 210 Science Drive, Room 4011
Contact Info: megan.tisdale@law.duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email megan.tisdale@law.duke.edu

Jarvis:  Dr. Chris Roy

Office:  1222 French Family Science Center
Contact Info:  919-660-1518 chris.roy@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email chris.roy@duke.edu

Pegram:  Dr. Jill Wentzell

Office: 4344 French Family Science Center
Contact Info: jill.wentzell@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email jill.wentzell@duke.edu

Randolph:  Ms. Colleen Scott and Dean Donna Kostyu
Colleen Scott:

Office:  204 East Duke
Contact Info: 919-684-6579, colleen.scott@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email colleen.scott@duke.edu

Donna Kostyu:

Office: 110 Academic Advising Center
Contact Info: 919-684-6217, ddkk@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-6217

Southgate:  Dean Alyssa Perz

Office: 110 Academic Advising Center
Contact Info: 919-684-6217,  akperz@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: call 919-684-6217

Wilson:  Dr. Chris Roy

Office: 1222 French Family Science Center
Contact Info: 919-660-1518, chris.roy@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: email chris.roy@duke.edu

show

Advisors for Juniors, Seniors and Alumni

Your Health Professions Advisor changes when you reach your junior year.  You should now consult with Ms. Wahl, Ms. Broderius or Dr. Roy as they specialize in advising on final preparation and applications. 

Ms. Deborah Wahl:

Office: 011 Allen Building
Contact Info:  919-684-6221, deborah.wahl@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment:: Schedule appointments through AdviseStream Calendar

Ms. Cindy Broderius:

Office: 011 Allen Building
Contact Info:  919-684-6221, cynthia.broderius@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment:: Schedule appointments through AdviseStream Calendar

Dr. Christopher Roy:

Office:  1222 French Family Science Center, 919-660-1518
Contact Info:  919-660-1518, chris.roy@duke.edu
To Make an Appointment: : Please email Dr. Roy directly

show

Advisors for Special Interests

For appointments, email the individual below (or call the listed phone number if a phone number is given).

PreDental Advising

Dr. Martha Ann Keels, marthaann.keels@duke.edu

PreVet Advising

Dr. Bernie Fischer, bernie.fischer@duke.edu

PrePhysical Therapy Advising

Dr. Rosie Canizares, rcc4@duke.edu

PreNursing Advising

Dr. Ernie Rushing, ernie.rushing@duke.edu

Prehealth Liaison in the Career Center

coming soon

PrePharmacy Advising

Cindy Broderius, 919-684-6221 or cynthia.broderius@duke.edu

Shadowing Coordinator 

Dana Horne, 919-684-6221 or dana.horne@duke.edu

show