Medical College Admission Test (MCAT)

The MCAT consists of four test sections:

  1. Biological and biochemical foundations of living systems
  2. Chemical and physical foundations of biological systems
  3. Psychological, social and biological foundations of behavior
  4. Critical analysis and reasoning skills.

The MCAT is offered at multiple times during the year, beginning in January and then from April to September. Medical schools will usually accept MCAT scores that have been taken within the past three years, so some students will study for and take the MCAT in one summer, and apply to medical schools the following summer. Other students will take the MCAT in April, May or early June and then send in their application in June in the same summer.

There is more information on the Association of American Medical Colleges' website: